A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Right to education is one of the most basic rights of any human being. Education should, therefore, be one of the primary concerns of any nation in order for it to flourish and grow. I agree with the recommendation that a nation should establish a nation-wide curriculum for all its students until they enter college. Having been part of the Indian education system for 12 years I have not only observed but also experienced instances where having a disparate educational system put me at a disadavntage compared to my peers.

India is a vast country with 29 states and nearly all of them have their own board of education. While there is a nation-wide curriculum, it is not mandatory for all schools to follow the same. I, for one, have been under several different curriculums varying from state board, anglo-indian and central board. However, being part of different curriculums didn't quite affect me until it was time for me to enter college. In a country where entry to colleges is based on a national level entrance examination, I felt that I was fairly unequipped for the tests because my state-board curriculum followed a different method of learning while the techniques required to tackle the entrance tests were different. However, students who were trained under the nation-wide curriculum were far more equipped to write the tests. This experience is not just mine, but of everyone who studied in the state-board curriculum and had to take additional coaching in order to prepare themsleves for the entrance tests.

Another scenario where this mismatch in education led to a problem was when a nation-wide entrance test called NEET was introduced all over India for entry to medical colleges. Until then, each state had its own medical entrance test which was based on its state-board curriculum. This sudden rule took several medical asprirants by shock as they were clearly unprepared for the test. In South Indian states like Tamil Nadu and Kerala this rule was even met with violent protests from the students and parents. If the country had adopted a nation-wide curriculum in every school prior to the passing of such a rule, the students would have been at a better position to take the test.

While mandating all schools to follow a common nation-wide curriculum may seem like a panacea to put an end to disparities in levels of education, it can also be highly impractical. The resources required to impart the same level of education may not be spread out equally throughout a country. Thus while looking to implement such a rule, the government of each nation should also allocate required resources and funds to every state in order for this recommendation to be implemented successfully. In a country where every student has had equal access to quality education, they would all have an equal chance when it comes to writing the entrance tests. When entering college, no child would be at a disadvantage just because he or she didn't have access to the same resources as his or her peer.