The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The restaurant has replaced butter in all its outlets with margarine. It has noted that this change has led only 2 percent of the customers to complain and further concludes that this means 98 customers out of 100 are happy. The restaurant however, fails to address certain possibilities before coming to this conclusion. Many customers may still be unhappy about this change, yet they may feel diffident or unwelcomed to voice out their issues. There may even be several customers who are simply indifferent to such a change and go about their meals in an apathetic manner. This doesn’t necessarily mean that they are happy with the change.

The restaurant believes that when customers are given margarine instead of butter they do not complain about it because they are unable to distinguish between these two ingredients or simply because they use the term ‘butter’ and ‘margarine’ interchangeably. The restaurant misses out on evaluating other possible explanations as to why customers behave in this manner. One probable explanation could be that the customers in fact like the way margarine tastes with their food. They could’ve requested the servers for butter because that is the ingredient they usually take with their meal. However, when given margarine instead, they may have felt that this tasted much better and hence voiced no concerns.

Some customers may decide not to complain in order to not create a scene within the restaurant. They may just politely let it slide when their choice of ingredient is being denied to them. It is possible that the servers are not as friendly that the customers feel like expressing complains to them.

Another alternative scenario for customers not complaining could be that their expectations from the restaurant could have dropped over time. When specifically asked for butter, if the restaurant serves margarine, any customer is to disregard the restaurant’s competencies. This is even a worse scenario for the Happy Pancake House restaurants as they are prone to lose their customers due to ignorant and ill-defined evaluation of ingredient preferences amongst their customers.

The restaurant seems to have jumped to conclusions without a thorough analysis of its customer’s behavior. In fact, instead of waiting for the customers to complain or express concerns about their food, the restaurant could have implemented a feedback system asking what the customers preferred better. This in turn would have made customers feel like they were welcome to express their views and that their opinions mattered in the restaurant’s decision making process.