To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Because there are various cultures in numerous countries, many people concerned about the way how they can understand different cultures well. Some believe that studying a country’s history is the way to identify the most significant features of a country. However, I believe that people should study a country’s major cities if they want to know the most crucial characteristics of a country.

Admittedly, some people believe studying country’s major cities is not helpful to know the most important features. Nowadays, people can visit foreign countries easily, many countries spend their budget to attract those travelers. If that city, which is funded to attract visitors, become a big city so that people recognize it as a major city, it would be hard for people to understand the most important features by studying its major cities. Take Hong Kong, for example. Hong Kong is known as a country of shopping, but shopping is not the most important keyword of the country.

Regardless of the above case, studying major cities is the way to know the most significant features of the country. We can understand one’s major cities as the cities that the country funded a lot to develop the cities’ characteristics so that these cities are so popular to other nationers. In addition, country would spend their money to develop its cities not just about every industry but about several industries that have connection with country’s culture. France is the country where the fashion industry is the most developed. There are lots of design schools, and it is the home of fashion brands that we all know like Channel, so fashion is the most important keyword of France. And as we know, Paris, one of France’s major cities, is well-known for fashion and food, representing its country’s most crucial feature.

In addition, major cities are the place where many people live compared to other cities, so major cities can be representatives of their countries. America is the country where various races are live together, so there are lots of different cities that show their races’ culture well, such as Asian town. These cities could not show the most important feature, living together with different culture because those cities are preferred by specific race and taste. However, major cities such as Washington D.C., many people of different races live together so that other people, not Americans, can understand the characteristic of harmony in races. Thus, studying major cities is the way to know the most significant characteristic of a country.

In conclusion, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, people must study its major cities because major cities can be representative of countries. This is because of the reason why a city can become a major city of its country.