The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this recommendation, the author argues that the city of Calatrava could get enough money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults by decreasing budget of education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational facilities. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author should provide solid evidence on the detail number of birthrate. The author argues that the number of children who would enroll public schools because the last year’s birthrate is the half of 5 years before, so it is reasonable to reduce the funds budgeted for education. However, if the birthrate of 5 years ago is so high that half of it is not the small number, the city should not decrease the fund of education for students. Also, there is a possibility that the decrease of birthrate in last year is an aberration. Because the last year’s economy was adverse, people were hard to decide to get baby. If the condition of economy goes well, the birthrate could increase, so the city should view the birthrate in the long run.

Second, specific pieces of evidence are needed on the target population of athletic playing fields and other recreation facilities. If the target users of athletic playing fields are not just kids but teenagers who need fields to be sport players and teenage sports player, the need of athletic playing fields would not decrease. Also, the budget applying would be continued for 10 years, and 10 years is the amount of time for children to become teenagers and adults, so the number of teens and adults would increase in the future. If teens and adults are the primary users of other recreation facilities, decreases the amount of fund using in there is not the great idea.

Lastly, the author needs to supplement the argument with concrete evidence that there is enough money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. The author mentions that the birthrate in the city is declining. Because of the decreasing birthrate, the amount of budget used for education, athletic playing fields, and other recreation facilities would already decrease, so even if the city decreases the budget of those things, it can be hard to get enough money to spend on several programs and facilities for adults.

In brief, the author’s argument is not sound on many grounds. To make a stronger argument, the author needs to give more detail information on the detail number of birthrate, target population of athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities.