The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation, the author argues that the client needs to invest to Consolidated Industries, the retail sale of home heating oil company because of the weather and the increase of houses. This recommendation may seem compelling at first, the lack of answers to the questions leads me to question the validity of the recommendation.

First, the author needs to answer whether the accuracy of the prediction is high. The author argues that the weather of twenty days last year in the northeastern United States was colder than the average temperatures and local weather forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. However, if the accuracy of the prediction is not high, it is hard to believe the future’s weather tendency. Even though the accuracy is high, this is just a prediction, so this could not be happened in real and the last year’s low temperature would just be an aberrant case. Thus, the author should give more detailed information about the prediction.

In addition, the question that the author needs to answer is whether the reason why the number of house increases is because of development. The author argues that the increases of house in the northeastern United States means the region’s development. However, it is possible that the number of houses increases because several big families started to separate their house to form their own family. People decided to move out when they are getting married or get babies and if this is the reason of the changes in number of houses, the total number of residents is not changed, and this could not support the author’s argument that the increase of house means the development of that region. Thus, the author needs to give information of the reason of house increase.

Lastly, the author should answer whether the investment in Consolidated Industries is the good choice. The author argues that because of several developments, invest to the retail sale of home heating oil is the great choice to the client. However, if there was already a retail sale of home heating oil company that monopolizes the region, investing in Consolidated Industries would not be the best choice. In this case, investing to the dominant company or other companies that use home heating oil such as boiler company would be the better choice than investing to Consolidated Industries.

In conclusion, the recommendation is not sound on many grounds. To make a stronger recommendation, the author needs to provide the answers to the questions about the prediction, the reason about house increase, and the business distribution in the region.