Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation, the station manager of KICK in Medway argues that it is better for KICK to include more call-in advice programs to increase audiences in its listening area. This recommendation seems convincing at first, the lack of answers to the questions leads me to question its validity.

First, the manager needs to answer whether there is another reason for increasing audiences when the radio station WCQP in Rockville increases the number of call-in advice programs. It is possible that the number of audiences increases because of sound economy, not because of call-in advice programs. Because economy of two years before was sound, people had less stress on their lives, so that they can afford their time on listening radio. For this reason, the manager needs to answer the reason of increasing audience two years before is the increase of call-in advice programs, not the condition of economy.

In addition, the question that needs to be answered is whether residents in Medway are the representatives of the whole nation. The manager argues that because of the nationwide survey result, many radio listeners are quite interested in call-in advice programs, so KICK should include more call-in advice programs to get more audiences. However, nationwide result cannot describe the characteristics of the specific area, Medway, because nationwide result is the average of whole cities in the country. Thus, the manager needs to give the detail that nationwide result really describes Medway well.

Lastly, the manager should ask whether increasing the number of call-in advice programs would really help KICK to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. The manager argues that because of WCQP’s recent success and the nationwide survey result, increasing the number of call-in advice programs is the method to get more audience than before. However, it is possible that people usually like to listen call-in advice programs because of time, not because of content. In this case, including more call-in advice programs not really helps KICK to get a larger audience shar in its listening area. Therefore, the manager needs to give evidence that increasing call-in advice programs is the method to gain a larger audience.

In conclusion, the manager’s recommendation is not sound on many grounds. To make a stronger recommendation, the manager should provide answers to the above questions.