Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In modern society, many people think that we need variety of knowledge and skills to be succeed. However, I disagree with the statement that university should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major.

Granted, universities should offer a variety of courses for students and they also can require students to take those courses. Since we are living in modern society with complicated techniques and mixture of cultures, it would be helpful to build basic knowledge and get insights on various fields. We cannot sure that those elements can result in huge benefits, but no one can deny that preparing for one’s future is not necessary. For example, Steve Jobs who was an eminent businessman in an IT field took a calligraphy course in his university. Calligraphy was not his major and he did not need to take the course. However, he took the course just because of his curiosity and interest on the course. Although no one even Steve Jobs did not expected to him to use the knowledge he learned from the course, Jobs used his insight attained from the calligraphy course to make simple and proportionally spaced fonts in Macbook. Like Jobs, every course outside one’s major can build insight on various fields, and it will lead students to a better member of society.

However, it is far-fetched to say that every student is necessary to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major field. This is because there are several fields that require only specialized and deep skills or knowledge in those fields such as music. The only way to be a preeminent person of those fields is to make arduous efforts on their skills and ability. Therefore, they need to spend a myriad of time and efforts on their own field. In this case, studying other fields can be a waste of time for them. For example, Yoyoma, a very talented cellist, went to Juilliard School which is famous for music school. Since the curriculum in the Juilliard was specialized in music, he did not need to spend his time on other courses such as mathematics or computer science which are far from his own interest, Yoyoma could focus on his cello skills and musical study. If he went to universities that required Yoyoma to take other courses, he would not be able to focus on his music and would not be a virtuoso like now. Therefore, universities cannot force all the students to take electives.

In brief, universities should require students to take a variety of courses to build heir general knowledge and insights. However, some students who have their own dream on specialized fields like music or arts, universities need to let them focus on their own interest.