Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The controversial issue of whether should be mandatory for students to attend some courses outside their main field of study is topic worth of debate. Indisputably, this policy will enhance the overall knowledge of students, however it should be well designed so that students do not spare time and money. Thus, I generally agree with recommendation because the policy can have benefits on both students and society as a whole.

The main reason which leads me to believe that the above recommendation should be put in place is the benefit that students will get by this policy. If students are required to take some courses outside their field of study this will bolster their overall knowledge and, in turn, increase their likelihood to be hired. Indeed, the principal function of the university system is to provide students with advanced and specific knowledge in certain topics so that they can be hired in the sector they like the most. Given this primary function of university, if students learn both the main subjects and those topics which are directly linked their likelihood to be hired will increase. For instance, be a manager of a firm require both specific knowledge in how to properly conduct the business but also how to manage the human capital. Thus, if prospective students take courses in the field of labor psychology this will definitely help them in their future job. Therefore, the first reason is that students will benefit from this system.

In addition, society as a whole will definitely have advantages if the policy is in place. The reason which leads me to believe this is the plenty of real-life examples which show how combined research in different fields have helped society. Economics has been recently merged with psychology in what it is called behavioral economics. Economics assumes people to be fully rational whereas behavioral economics introduces the possibility that individuals commit errors in their lives. The main consequences have been in the introduction of the policies by governments which have been adjusted to take into account the non-rationality of people: this change has increased their effectiveness and the well-being of people. Moreover, artificial intelligence has been combined with psychology to design robots which assist elderly people. Or, complex system which describe how animals interact has been applied to try to understand how the people’s interaction evolve over time in an economic system. Therefore, it is clear that if current students from disparate fields are exposed to the study of courses outside their major fields could lead to benefits for the society as a whole.

One can argue that if it is required to students to take courses which are completely unrelated to their major field this will hinder their motivation and lead to lose money and time. This is certainly true. Indeed, the system must be well-designed so that, for instance, an engineer student is not forced to take courses in English literature but only to courses which are in some way linked to their main field of study.

In conclusion, the system, if well-designed, can bring benefits to both students and society as a whole. Students will have a higher likelihood to be hired because of their expanded knowledge and society can take advantage of research in disparate but linked fields.