Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The author of the statement claims that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. While some may argue that this statement holds all the time, others may counter that claim by providing examples in support of their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both sides of the argument, and also provide sound reasoning for my claim.

In Today's world, if you want to be successful then you should be a multitasker or multifunctional person. And to be a multitasker one should have knowledge of other's areas also. So, if a University makes compulsory that every student must take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study then it would be great for the student to get fitted in the 21-st century's demand of multitasker.

If you take an example of engineering where students have different options to choose like Civil, Mechanical, Computer. And suppose one student choose Computer Science as his subject in university. However, in his job, he might also be required knowledge of market or finance but because he didn't study these subject in university, he will not be able to tackle this situation.

Beside above mention benefits, one can also choose a social event or some other extra curriculum activities like swimming. As these things will help one in improving their participating in group projects and teamwork. As these things are helpful in future professional careers.

But, What if the student is weak in studies or not able to clear the exam, then also he should study the subject of other's fields? I Don't

think so because without having knowledge of his own subjects, how could he manage to study subjects which are not related to his field or investing his time in other activities.

In a nutshell,  I would say that due to the demand of a multitalented person in the industry, for better and broad future prospects of student and expansion of social circle. Universities should require those students who are good or above-average to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.