Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

With the development of modern society, residents’ lives have been greatly improved. That is to say, we can afford what we do not have the ability to buy and we have no longer worried about our physical lives. Because of the reason I mention before, people are paying increasingly more attention to the all-round development of students and the qualities of students academic. Accordingly, question is aroused whether university should require students to take coursed out of their field of study. From my perspective, university should give students more freedom to decide which courses to choose.

First and foremost, every one only has 24 hours a day which means that there will be some of the students that will find they will find few time for their own major or just for recreation. For example, some students love their major and they want to pursuit further education in this major. In order to realize this dream, they will spend a lot of time in their own major to enhance their GPA or do some experiments to ascend their research background. If the university force these students to attend some extracurricular courses, these students’ extra time will be occupied by things that will do no good their future academic life. To the worst, this kind of policy may ruin some of the students future lives.

In addition, most of the students choose their majors because of their interests and strengths. That is to say, maybe students are not interested in or good at the courses out of theirs fields of study. For instance, Sheng He, who is one of the greatest writers in China, was not good at and interested in math at all. His math score was even almost 0 in the college entrance examination while his language got the maximum score. The reason why he got that math score was that he has completely no interest in math at all so he never learned math. If the universities implement that policy and some of the students are forced to learn the courses they are not interested in, there is possibility that they will skip classes and finally have a very bad score. It is both a waste of universities’ resources and a dilemma for the students’ future lives.

In a nutshell, universities should offer students to choose want to learn instead of requiring them to study the courses out of their fields’ of study.