Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In the present era of innovation, research and employment involves a significant amount of interdisciplinary work. The prompt recommends that universities should need every student to build up their interdisciplinary skills and their interests outside their major by taking up a variety of courses. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim and argue that interdisciplinary studies help the student in varied ways for two important reasons.

To begin, several jobs require interdisciplinary skills for better understanding and functioning of their job. To illustrate this, let us consider an example in the blooming job arena of autonomous vehicles. A typical self-driving car requires sensors to detect roads and obstacles, computer chip to control the movement of the vehicle and a mechanical engineering component for improving the efficiency of engine. The field of autonomous vehicles includes electrical, mechanical and computer engineering knowledge. If a student does not have sufficient basic knowledge in these fields, it will be difficult for him to understand the working of the whole product and it will drastically reduce his job prospects. These interdisciplinary skills can be acquired by taking up courses outside one’s major and thus, proving my point of view.

Furthermore, interdisciplinary studies allows a student to explore various fields outside his major. For instance, a computer science student having no idea on the functioning of law, can take up an introductory course in his or her university to get a basic knowledge and skills in the field of law. There are few courses which will be helpful in a student’s future such as banking, investments and music. Exploring courses outside one’s major also allows one to improve on their avocations such as art and music. The benefits of exploring courses outside one’s major are profound and makes one to develop passion in a new field. Thus, this proves my point of view.

Ofcourse, some argue that universities mandating students to take up courses outside their major will result in them losing interest in their major. However, if they are losing interest in their major probably their major is not their passion and this step by universities allows one to find their passion and niche. In conclusion, I reiterate the aforementioned examples that strongly suggest that universities should require every student to take up courses outside his/her major.