Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities should allow students to take courses that do not match their field of study. The world is becoming competitive, and because of this, people are required to learn more and gain more knowledge. Along with this, technology is growing at an accelerated rate and one cannot survive with knowledge only in field. Also, having knowledge in more courses opens up more career opportunities.

As I said earlier, the World is becoming highly competitive, and naturally, the one with more skill will triumph over the one with lesser technical skill. To further substantiate my point, I would like to make a comparison between my father and my uncle. Both of them studied Mechanical Engineering, but my uncle also did a course in Electronics Engineering, whereas my father stuck only to mechanical engineering. Once they obtained their degrees, they were employed in a renowned company that specialized in air conditioners. My father struggled to understand the working of electronic equipment such as sensors and thermistors, whereas my uncle, well versed in the electronics field, rose quickly through the ranks from being a worker to a supervisor. My dad decided to quit his job and work as a petty mechanic, managing to earn only a few dollars everyday. Thus, in order to gain a competitive edge, one must be multifarious in technical skills and must be allowed to take multiple courses.

Being well-versed in multiple courses increases the scope of one's technical skill and thus opens up a door of opportunities. I would like to state my own self as an example. I completed two engineering courses: Mechanical and Electrical engineering. I got placed in a company that required me to have sophisticated skill in electrical engineering, but unfortunately, I lacked the ability because electrical engineering is a dangerous field. I had to quit my job, and luckily, due to me having a variety of options due to having done multiple courses, I was placed in a mechanical-based company, and was much more comfortable in doing work.

Due to advancing technology, one must be knowledgeable. Many devices and components have started to incorporate technology from other fields. For example, the automobile sector was a purely mechanical sector until 10 years ago. But now, electronics such as speed sensors and temperature sensors have become an integral part in determining how an automobile will run. Thus, considering today's circumstances, one cannot expect to ace in the field of automobile only with pure mechanical-based knowledge. He must have knowledge in the field of both electronics and mechanical engineering.

Some will argue that students who have multiple courses and subjects imposed on themselves will struggle to finish even one of them. I would like to counter their point by saying that by practice, even the dumbest person can become a genius in anything he chooses to. Initially, I had a lot of trouble in learning because I was getting confused with electronics and mechanical engineering, but, with diligence and continuous practice, I overcame my restrictions and aced in both fields.

A few people will again be in opposition to the idea of being multifarious because they consider learning several courses to be a waste of money. While it may appear right from their viewpoint, it is not. We spend and throw away money in several ways. A connection should not be made between education and money. Nonetheless, there are several colleges that offer multiple free courses or courses at extremely low fees to their students.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that in order to survive in this competitive world, gain extra knowledge and expand his/her career scope, one must take and learn courses not related to his field of interest.