The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written records.

Like the famous saying goes, seeing is believing, despite the believe of some people that a written record gives a more accurate account of happenings, a video recording gives an even better documentation. I personally believe that people would generally believe what they can see happening with their own eyes, whether it’s a live event, or a video recording of the event happening, over some written piece of documents be it in a newspaper, or a letter, or in books.

One example of videos been more accurate than written records is the George Floyd case, if the young lady hasn’t taken a recording of that event, the guilty officers might have colluded with the doctor in charge of the autopsy, to rule the death out as an accident instead of what it is, a murder, and falsify records. This is also comes into play in several other legal cases, for example when interrogating a suspect, supposedly the police officer had profiled the accused to be the criminal, instead of looking for evidence to support is assertation, the officer could go ahead to fill out a report on such issue, which is very unethical and wrong, and of course the report would be admissible in court, whereas a video recording would be a perfect, because it would show whether the accused confessed to the crime or not.

Now consider the case of the 7ft’1inch basketball god, Wilt Chamberlin. Wilt was arguably the best centre of his generation, he was mostly popular for his unprecedented feat of scoring a hundred point in an official game, the only person to ever come close to such remarkable effort is the late NBA legend, Kobe Byrant, with 81points. Of course, there are many concerns about Wilt’s 100-point game because it was never recorded on a video tape, it wasn’t even broadcasted on a radio, we really on written records on newspapers, and word of mouth from people that were supposedly present during the game, if video recording of such games had been taken, there wouldn’t be a single atom of doubt on anyone’s mind about it.

Finally, consider the Media industry, where there are a lot of controversial stories flying around, from who the most handsome celebrity is currently dating, the scandals such a celebrity is involved in, and all. Any decent journalist knows just merely writing it on paper isn’t enough, he/she needs hard evidences, and a video recording is the most single undisputable form of documentation of such events.

In sum, it is clear that a video recording provides a more accurate records of happening, compared to a written report. The George Floyd, the Wilt Chamberlin Case and the Media industry are all exception examples of Video recordings been more accurate documentations of events.