We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Each person has unique personality and character that can shape the way of thinking, and some other external factors like knowledge and experiences also affect the method of thinking. Differences in ideology, visions, and opinions are an inevitable result of these factors forming our beliefs, so one must accept that we can not force people to align with our opinion easily. The notion that says learning from people with the same views will generate more than when we learn from people with differing views seems acceptable and true at first, yet in reality discrepancy of beliefs will create a room for opportunity to grow. For example, when we want to solve a grave problem that needs various points of view, each group with typical opinion or idea will add information to the effort of solving the problem. The more diverse the idea is, the more chance we have better outcome, and in the process we will learn many things from the contradictions and debates. There are some reasons that can explain this position.

The contradicting view can open the weakness of our position, and it can be a positive way to improve our position. The way we think will result in certain kind of opinion or analysis, and some of our opinions might have same typical characteristics that can not be changed unless we use different approach in thinking. When we talk about how we solve global warming, most people who care about environment will definitely ask for hard approach like leaving behind fossil fuels in energy generation as soon as possible. On the other hand, people who understand the system really well may argue that it would not be easy to transfer from fossil fuels to renewable in just a short amount of time. Numerous preparations, steps, and a stack of cash must be provided in order to fulfill the goal of avoiding the worsening global warming effects. This contradiction from the opposing view gives new insight to the proponent of renewable energy that we can not be too hasty in transforming our system to the renewable depended one. The efforts will take time, and it will be too costly if we take haphazard approaches. Many bad things will also can result in the end. For example, economic crisis can happen if we did not make the right calculation in investment and funding. This example proves that, at many times, opposing views will also become our opportunity to evaluate our views. The weakness of our view can be identified by the other people who think differently. Additionally, in return, all opposing sides will receivew new learnings, facts, and knowledge from the other sides that have different expertise; hence, the process of contradicting teaches people many things as much as from people with same belief or even more.

Differing in opinion might also teaches us a new way to see problems and how to solve them. The use of the same method of problem solving might be advantageous in term of the comfort of using common tools, yet it does not provide flexibility that is often needed in solving problems. Sometimes our method will not as effective as the others’, and it is wise to use better technique that is previously unknown to us.

However, actually we also can learn more from people with the same belief with us. Sometimes, people with more experiences tend to have more knowledge than us, and it is easier for us to accept and learn from people with the same view. For example, conventional teachers from the common education system might learn from one another especially the young one can follow his or her seniors in many things. They will, of course, not ask the teachers from homeschooling system. Nevertheless, differences in views will yield in more and better learning and result in the end.