We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

This human world is heterogenous mix of different ideas and beliefs. These ideas and beliefs among vary between different religions, races, political party, country and even varies between different individuals. The prompt mentioned above suggests that it is far more effective in learning from the people whose ideas we concur with rather than from the people having contradictory ideas. I am not fully consonant with the opinion of the author; I will be further elaborating my position on this issue through the paragraphs illustrated below.

To begin with, it is common to have varied views between peoples. If there is common view among all peoples, it would be difficult of trace the flaws of the views. Despite having contradictory views, people from opposing views could point our shortcomings. This way, we can work on such flaws and eventually, make our views further solidified. Certain political party, for instance, could work out on the drawbacks of their ideas when they are attacked by the cadres of opponent party. Thus, the rational aspect on which the competitors attack can be a basis for the improvements.

in a similar manner, as the saying goes by “Beauty lies in the diversity”; it is true that diversity results in favorable results. Different people or group of people would be motivated to improve their views and ideals with a sense of healthy competition between the opponents. One can look on the solidity and rationality of views of their opponents and thus could emulate the better things. In addition, the best outcome come from the cooperation of people with nonuniform instance on particular issues. In the manufacturing process, for example, members from different departments could demand different features on their next product, thus it is probable that product launched would be without flaws.

However, having said that, we also could grasp a knowledge and ideas from the people of our same field on some cases. Some field are esoteric to the common people; only the peoples from that particular profession have a sound knowledge on the matters of the particular field. Doctor, for example, could learn some particular aspect regarding medical aspect only form the professionals from safe field. Similarly, newars could learn their culture effectively only from the Newari peoples. In this way, this example illustrates that learning in some cases becomes far more effective from the peoples of same group.

To sum up, despite several arguments that are at odds with the issue, there are also some instances where the issue is practical; Hence, this topic requires much more expanded evaluation of social trends pertaining this subject. However, it is clear that diversity between individuals should not be a matter of hostility between peoples rather we all should respect the differences to make this world a beautiful place to live on.