The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A lot of people assert that question the authority will help to enhance the well-being of a society, however, it depends on the decisions the authority make. A good advice could have positive result, on the contrary, to give suggestions blindly will harm the society.

When authority made some false decision, if many people questioned it and made some improvement, the well-being of a society will be enhanced. It is impossible that the authority never make mistakes, and the people sometimes are the supervisor. One good example is the Roosevelt’s new deal. During the great depression, the president Hoover enacted several policies in order to save the whole nation. However, because he did not find the key cause of the great depression, the situation did not improve even worsen. Many people questioned his decisions and asked someone else to solve the problem. Then, the president Roosevelt came to the stage. He published a series of policies and saved the whole country. Because of him, the United States could develop again. This example illustrates that if people discover the mistakes of authority and question them, the society will improved.

However, not all questioning will bring out the positive result, on the contrary, many people question the authority will make the society disorder because sometimes the authority is right. Once many people aggregate, it is possible the riot will happen. We could learn it from the recent example happened during Covid-19. In the United States, the government asked people to stay at home in order to reduce the contagion, but people were refused. Lots of people came to street and pushed the government to change the policy. Some even damaged the cars and stores along the street. During the parade, the crime rate is increased. Many people stole things and robbed the pedestrian. Can we say the question of authority bring out a positive result? Probably not.

To make an improvement, when authority is truly wrong then people could question it and also people have to regulate the level of parade. Sometimes the authority’s policy will hurt a group of people’s interest, but it unavoidable since they cannot make perfect decisions. People ought to identify whether the policy is beneficial or deleterious rather than question it blindly. Moreover, when people decide to make a parade in order to attack attention, a leader is indispensable. Without proper regulation, a parade will have counterproductive result. As we could seen in the Roosevelt’s example, a good suggestion from the public could make the whole nation prosperous.

In a nutshell, people should have critical thinking on authority. Question the authority blindly and make a chaotic parade is inadvisable.