one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Since medical sciences are progressing with leaps and bounces, the life expectancy has been increasing these days. It becomes a controversial topic that whether living longer has more benefits or it has more drawbacks instead. Both the advantages and the disadvantages of longer life span will be discussed carefully.

To begin with, multifarious points shore up the advantages of this practice. Firstly, elderly people will have a lot of time to do many activities that they have not tried yet when they were young. Some might explore the world by travelling, while some might enjoy spending time with their family or looking for their grandchildren. Living longer will allow the old to have a happy life in their retirement. Moreover, it also has several merits to a society. Many older people might contribute their value to do a volunteer work in a certain fields, for instance, older doctors or professors may still keep working in their professions in order to teach young graduated or give valuable advice to an organization. Therefore, having a longer life span is beneficial to both individuals and societies.

On the other hand, this phenomenon can cause significant problems. First and foremost, if a person is suffering in a terminal illness, keeping a vulnerable old patient alive would be very cruel and miserable for him. Increasing the life of an old is basically prolonging pains and miseries and the high technological treatments also leads to a relatively expensive price, consequently. Secondly, in term of public health, the consequence of innovative health developments is the economy of a nation. The cost to subsidize the national health care boosts up every year as there are many aging people waiting in line to use the services. Some countries spend a large proportion of budget on health care and lack budgets to support other areas.

To sum up, personally, older people should be able to maintain the life as long as they want in order to have a happy life and contribute their value to a public. However, the negative consequences hopefully will be able to to find some solutions to deal with, eventually.