Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow the local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that foreign guests need to have harmonic lifestyles with local citizens, there are also some opponents for this attitude. Both side of the debate will be considered below.

One argument given by advocates is preserving national culture. Obviously, every country has its own identities. Whereas visitors come to a specific nation, they usually lack knowledge of the rules there. Thus, they are easy to have unsuitable behaviors. For example, India bans beef for food because of their religion. If tourists eat this kind of food here, they will be put in jails. In addition, the second main reasons is ensuring safety for local society. Many products which are popular in some areas may be illegal in others. In serious circumstances, those commodities become out of authorities’ control and affect enormously to local community. Therefore, immigrants are encouraged to consume domestic customs.

Besides, detractors argue that cultural diversity should be supported. This facilitates for tourism to develop better. Tourists definitely fell more comfortable if they are welcomed as they are at home. As a result, friendly environment will attract an enormous number of tourists annually. Secondly, government can appeal foreign employees to improve domestic manufacturing. A country with diversified cultural policy always has a large and qualified workforce. This helps manufacturers produce high quality goods with affordable prices and reach larger market share in the international market. Consequently, the income of exporting increases significantly and local factories can continue to expend the scale of production.

In conclusion, foreign people should follow local culture or not, this depends on the attitude of government. In my opinion, every country should enact friendly policies for visitors to help them have more choices for careers or vacations.