17. Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other believe effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been argued that human beings need to be responsible for the distinction of some plant and animal species, so we need to take actions immediately. However, many people think it is helpless to make a difference. To my mind, I strongly believe that there are numerous methods that can protect Earth and help other creatures.

To begin with, it is undeniable that it is extremely hard to make a change because a large number of species has been extinct. For instance, even with the most advanced technology, scientists still cannot make a mammoth alive or save a died-out animal. The fact is that, for those species which are disappeared, human beings have limited things can do. However, people can converse protect the animals and plants which still exist now, slow down the distinction process and in the end, maintain the biodiversity.

Accordingly, I am optimistic, and I would argue that governments and individuals can apply various measures to improve the situation effectively. First of all, governments need to enact laws to regulate human activities that may damage habitats where rare/endangered plants and animals live. National parks are a heaven haven for local species and should not be touch by the industrious industry or agriculture. Secondly, countries across the world can work coordinately, for example under the Paris Agreement, to reduce carbon emission and to protect the environment for all the creatures. Finally, individuals can also take responsibility to take care of the environment and to save energy so that to help other species on the planet.

In conclusion, although human behaviours have conducted exerted a detrimental impact on other creatures, people can improve this situation by becoming more environmentally friendly. I think the Earth would remain rich in diversity due to effective human actions.