Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It would be almost impossible to envisage today’s world without computers. My own life is completely ruled by these machines, in both work and leisure. Thus, there appears to be a convincing rationale for allowing them into classrooms to undertake some of the teaching itself, yet I would say this is not a good idea.

The main reason is that computers do not provide the empathetic interaction necessary for genuine learning. Human beings are innately gregarious, with an embedded urge to communicate, yet these are instincts which static electronic circuitry can obviously never reciprocate, immediately introducing limitations. An example occurred recently, when colleagues sent me advanced ‘avatar’ programs to provide simulated speaking partners. I dutifully forced it upon my students, but true to my predictions, few tried this system, few wanted to, and I received not one of positive feedback. The concept was eventually abandoned, illustrating how high-minded expectations must ultimately succumb to human reality.

Proponents of using computers in the classroom would argue that these devices resonate with the technologically savvy youth. This union of human ingenuity with microchip potential has indeed been demonstrated in other spheres, and there certainly exists an eclectic mix of engaging programs, offered through devices which today’s students are highly conversant with, if not totally proficient at. Logic then suggests the exploitation of their natural proclivities for direct pedagogic purposes, in theory creating a symbiosis, which may yield interesting results.

However, students are mostly familiar with computer technology only when confined inside the narrow domain of social networking or game-style diversions. This does not necessarily translate into respecting these tools as purveyors of academic learning - quite the opposite in fact. In the absence of a guiding human presence, these much vaunted programs are surely reduced to passive vehicles, unlikely to sustain serious interest.

All this is why computers can only remain auxiliary to teachers.