Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Bicycle is considered the transport wich enables the environment to become greener and is used in almost all the countries around the world. However, it is not popular as some other forms of transport in some places due to several reasons and the solutions to this problem will be mentioned below.

To begin with, the main reason which makes cycling less common is that it is not suitable for long-distanced travelling. Cycling may take us a lot of time, unlike other vehicles, which can help us get to the destinations that we want to come without wasting time and strength. In addition, bicycle is simply designed. Nowadays, people consider fashion to be one of the top criteria in choosing a transport. Some think that the shape of bicycle doesn't fit with their clothes and therefore they choose car or motorbike instead.

There are several solutions which can be made to increase the amount of bicycle's users. Firstly, the government should encourage people to use bicycle by telling them the benefits of cycling to the environment. Secondly, they should pass a law of only allow bicycle used in come special routes, which means people cannot use other means of transport in these areas. Finally, if the cost of buying cars or motorbikes is higher, people will have to think of other transports which is cheaper that they can afford. As a result, more and more commuters list bicycle to be their second choice, and this leads to a remarkable increase in bicycle's usage.

In conclusion, cycling plays an essential part in protecting the environment. Although it may have some disadvantages, the benefits that cycling brings still outweight it. In order to make our planet become greener, it is the responsibility and awareness of everyone in reducing the number of cars or motorbikes on the streets and replace them by bicycle.