Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can we increase its popularity?

From the past generation until this modern era, Using bicycle have been admitted as efficient and effective means of transportation to prevent environment. Although this is not so popular and widely used in some places. In this essay, I would illustrate the reasons why people tend not to utilize bicycles as well as demonstrate the ways which could encourage usage of this transportation.

To start with, there are several causes why people avoid using cycling. Firstly, it is undeniable that making use of other transportation such as bus, subway, train and private car could save more time than riding bicycle. Individuals always want to spend time and energy efficiently. Secondly, the road or traffic systems are not suitable for bicycle users, less bicycle paths and bike parking lots. Thereby the bicycle users feel inconvenient from lack of amenities. Lastly, some people are clumsy to ride bicycle, they are not familiar to use it on busy roads or in the city. Above the reasons could bother people riding bicycle.

Nevertheless, there are still various ways to change peoples’ concept of cycling. First and foremost, government should construct several basic amenities for riders. Such a bicycle paths do not reduce commuting time only and but it also prevent accidents from riding. What is more, taking my company as a good example, they opened new shower room for labors, after this tremendous people started to use bicycle instead of using their own car. In addition, local community also have responsibility to encourage to use bicycle. Accordingly they could offer free bicycle rental service or lessons for beginners.

Taking everything into account, without question, bicycle is the one of economically friendly means of transport, however, the number of users are increasing. From my perspective, if government invest fund to construct convenient facilities or programs for people, people are willing to use bicycle naturally.