Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can we increase its popularity?

It is true that bike riding is better than the other modes of transportation as we take the environment into account. However, it is not widely used in many countries for some reasons. This essay will examine the key reasons for this, and suggest solutions to increase the number of people riding bicycles.

To start with, there are obvious reasons why people in today’s world tend to not use bicycles often as a means of transport. Firstly, thanks to advanced science and technology, nowadays there are more convenient forms of transport than bicycle in everyday life, such as bus, train, tram and private car. Secondly, people are likely to choose easiest ways to live. This means that they do not want to consume their energy or time unnecessarily if there are other options to save these.

However, we could take steps to encourage people to use bicycles more often than now. I believe that governments have a big role in increasing its popularity. They could invest national budgets in building a better infrastructure for bike riders. In Ilsan, one of the metropolitan cities in South Korea, for example, many citizens ride bicycles to commute or to enjoy their leisure time since the city built bike lanes all along the roads. It would also be helpful to amend current regulations to support the users and buyers. If it was known as not only an eco-friendly form but also a safer and more efficient one to travel, they might feel more positive towards riding a bicycle.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that a bicycle is currently the least popular means of transportation, governments can make it more widespread by building better systems for bike users.