Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

In many regions, it is very common to see bicycles and cars traverse in the same lane. This essay shall discuss the detrimental effects of bicycle driving and the possible solutions to ameliorating these impacts.

There are several issues associated with vehicular cycling. If cyclists and drivers travel on a shared road, they run a higher risk of being involved in fatal accidents due to the vehicles’ different sizes and speeds. In case of accidental collision, much larger and faster cars may cause grave injuries to bicyclists. Moreover, it is more difficult to maintain a smooth flow of traffic because drivers need to wait and give way to bikers, hence an increased possibility of traffic congestion and consequential road rage.

Certain measures can be employed to avoid the aforementioned problems. Roads with separate lanes should be built so that cars and bikes can run at their own speed and avoid interfering with each other’s traffic flow. Where lane division is not possible, it may help to enable bikes to join cars on a road only within a certain time frame, i.e. off-peak hours. Most importantly, traffic participants should be trained to perform safe driving in shared spaces. By doing this, they may be more self-assured when they engage in complex traffic situations.

In conclusion, vehicular cycling may increase the likelihood of fatal accidents and traffic jams. To mitigate these consequences, the government may consider constructing segregated lanes, imposing time restrictions and equipping citizens with sufficient knowledge about road safety