Difference between countries is barely evident these days. Everyone in the world is wearing the same brand and watching the same TV channels and movies. Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Once strict boundaries between countries are becoming to wipe out now thanks to the globalization whereby people throughout the world are able to enjoy the same brand and the same TV programme. While I consent to the negative cultural implication, I opine that it is a positive economic development.

It must be admitted that those who place a great emphasis on preserving indigenous culture point to the need for maintaining the minutiae of customs of a society. To put it differently, it is believed that aboriginal culture is a cultural heritage arising from deep-rooted beliefs and time-honoured religious broadcast through TV programmes and films in the contemporary media-saturated society. Through exposure to TV programmes produced by alien cultures, people's beliefs and attitudes are bound to undergo a revolution, thereby fuelling culture shock. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by Islamic countries where hijab is compulsory as a social norm. If over-exposed to western movies, it is highly likely that these people tend to flout the existing norms and defy the ground rules. This in itself inflicts damage on the fabric of society and social cohesion.

Globe trade opportunity, however, is an undeniable constructive outlook in this respect which firmly endorses the viewpoint that it could be a strongly positive development. This may mean that such multinational businesses make the vast majority of brands able to launch branches throughout the globe in order to sell their products more effectively. In another word, adopted countries are more likely to become economically motivated, therefore promoting job and economic prospects and consequent more social mobility. For example, Nike outlet brand set more than thousands of branches in the world creating ample job vacancies, especially for the young. Taking some advantages of products of diverse nationality while residing in your homeland can potentially make an emotional intimacy among people with cultural diversity and different ethnicities, laying the groundwork for world peace hopefully.

To conclude, I take the view that shrinking the borders between nations can be judged as both positive and negative developments as it can boost economic promotion as well as damage to the culture of the society.