The widespread use of internet has brought many problems. What do you think are the main problems? What solutions can you suggest?

In today’s global village, which is based on the transfer of information, the internet plays a key role in shaping the modern lifestyle. Unfiltered data, which is accessible by all groups of people, can have detrimental effects on their lives and behaviour and consequently cause problems to emerge in society. Most of the problems that arise have particular solutions which can be provided by their responsible entities. This essay will aim to evaluate the problems and suggest possible solutions.

Firstly, one of the most important issues attributable to the Internet is the freedom to access multifarious information without an age restriction or related supervising institutions. Children’s safety will be threatened if there is not sufficient supervision on ways of using the Internet. To address such problems, the heavy responsibility of managing entertainment materials available on the Internet lies on the shoulders of parents. For example, by surfing in various sites, children, who are not familiar with the cyber environment, may find access to the Deep Web which is a risky browser not only for his/her social health but also for physical safety. Therefore, children’s safety is a controversial issue in relation to using the Internet that can be controlled by parents. In addition to this issue, the importance of the role of the Internet in creating a gap in families should be also considered.

Secondly, the development in the use of the Internet and various online entertainments prevent interaction and companionship between family members. Continuation of this trend not only increases neglect among family members but also gradually creates a wide emotional gap and consequently the family system and structure collapses. By providing appropriate awareness to people about the widespread presence of the Internet in their lives and its effects on social interaction, governments and the special communication minister can solve such problems. For instance, in a family in which the Internet has an active role, the family members get engrossed in the virtual environment after finishing their social roles. In this condition, the role of the mother or father would diminish and children would be exposed to risks. Hence, social awareness is an important part of the culture of using the Internet which should be provided by the government in order to prevent the emergence of an emotional vacuum in families.

In conclusion, the Internet poses many problems for society, especially children. The main problems which stem from the use of the Internet consist of child safety and destruction of family interaction. The government and parents can mitigate such adverse effects by increasing awareness of the danger of the Internet and improving child supervision, respectively.