With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be.

It is known already that the rates of marriage annulment and family separation is increased and it comes to conclusion that families nowadays are not as intimate as before. This essay will discuss about reasons why this happened and offer some solutions.

There are some factors why family is falling apart. First, lack of communication especially between husband and wife. It happened when both are too busy, focus with their own carrier and/or problems, so they will have limited time even just for short conversation with the spouse or their children. Family is about sharing, whether it is happiness or burden so it will be really hard to keep the marriage work or family in harmony with all the problems that occurred with no communication at all.

In addition, people nowadays are seems really attached to their smartphone even when it is supposed to be family time. So instead of sharing with family, they share the problems in social media. Husband has no clues of what happened to his wife, parents do not know about their children problem and children do not trust their parents. Some couples may manage to maintain their marriage but it still affected their relationship somehow, especially with children. They will grow apart. Furthermore, another problem such as cheating and arguing will arise and will lead to family legal separation.

As solution to strengthen family/marriage bond is communication. Family can force to have it, for example by making “no smartphone in dining and living room” rule. My family has been doing it since last year. So every night, instead of have eyes glued on smartphone, we do small chit-chat time after dinner while watching TV and it really works to make family close each other.