Environmental protection is the responsibility of poliicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may argue that protecting the environment is the responsibility of figures of authority instead of individuals. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement. In the scope of this essay, several reasons and examples will be given to support my point of view.

Firstly, government’s policies can not be effective without the cooperation of individuals. As the number of politicians only occupies a small proportion in the whole population, they are not able to visit every region to apply proper methods in order to improve and maintain the surroundings. In fact, the only thing they can do is doing researches and imposing appropriate regulations. Thus, if individuals do not share hands with authority to mitigate the issues, no protection will be applied and the situation may get worse. A relevant example can be seen in the case of Vung Tau beach in Viet Nam. In 2005, while the government had placed numerous trash bins along the beach to keep it from pollution and had imposed heavy charge, many tourists visited this place littering and completely destroyed the intact beauty of this coastal area.

Secondly, the awareness of each people plays a paramount role in protecting the environment. While a single attempt may be consider inefficiency, the contribution of the whole population is a completely different story. If each of us fully understand what is the activities that can bring detrimental effects to the environment as well as acknowledge how to lessen them, pollution problems will be kept in an acceptable rate and even be improved. Taking the use of plastic bags which are the main cause of soil erosion and water pollution as an example, imagine if everyone of us recycle one of them after use instead of throwing these away. Assume that there are 7 billion people in the world, half of them uses at least one plastic bag them we will be able to decrease 3.5 billions of bags a day.

In conclusion, we can not overlook the importance of individuals in protecting the environment.