The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

After the human invented the car, the number of cars have been increasing until nowadays and it is causing numerous problems in the world. Some experts announced that the figure of cars was over 29 millions on British roads until the year 2000. This can be clearly seen that it is big problem not only in UK but also in many other countries.

To begin with, it is considered by many that we should invent alternative vehicle instead of the car and I also totally agree about this opinion. Because, plenty of number of cars in the major cities have been bringing a lot of problems, such as traffic jams, air pollution, noise problems etc. For example, many people in the major cities are suffering by air pollution. Chinese people should wear the mask when they go out. Furthermore, everyone would have experiences by traffic jam. As a result, after people recognise this problems, we began to invent new vehicle for replacing the care, such as public transports, electronic cars etc.

Secondly, some people support the opinion that there should be laws to compel vehicle use. Consequently, many countries have considered about this laws. For instance, there are some laws to force car ownership in order to prevent problems of car in my country. People who have a car have to choose a day that they can't drive and if they drive the day that they can't drive, they have to pay for fine.

In conclusion, I definitely believe that we should invent and develop alternative vehicle instead of cars and make laws to compel car use. Otherwise, the problems that the cars brought may be expanded. Eventually, we might face the bigger problems than i mentioned.