THE GLOBAL DEMAND FOR OIL AND GAS IS INCREASING. SOME BELIEVE THAT WE SHOULD THEREFORE ENCOURAGE THE EXPLOITATION OF REMOTE AREAS. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

Is the mindset of taking for granted all provided by the Earth still considered reasonable for people of 21 century? With growing consumerism, including that of fossil fuels, some people argue that excavation of oil and gas should be permitted in some far-away territories. Notwithstanding the existence of quite logical supporting arguments to the mentioned statement, I personally opine that its drawbacks are more significant.

The benefit of increasing the extraction of fossil fuels in less populated regions is somewhat related to supporting the social standard of living. First of all, a whole lot of countries, especially developing ones, rely heavily on the upstream and downstream of oil and gas, since these activities are as large as life for them because from the extraction, production, and further sale of O&G resources account for the largest inflow of money in their economies. By increased exploitation of remote areas, the government could not only increase the taxes creating the budget’s surplus but also employ more people decreasing the unemployment rates thus contributing to the prosperity of the country and its residents.

Nevertheless, the aforementioned strength is minored in comparison with the considerable weaknesses which should be taken into account. One reason disadvantage is that nature is put in jeopardy when exploring the fields. As for details, it is well-known fact that the more gas and oil are exploited, the more people burn them in a normal course of life, while fossil fuels are among the prime accelerator of greenhouse gases. Moreover, while transportation of oil to fuel stations and subsequent usage of gasoline and diesel by residents, the carbon footprint is extended to an enormous amount deepening such environmental issues as air pollution, global warming, increased frequency of eco-catastrophes, and others.

In addition to this, in a long run, bearing in mind that the energy from oil and gas is non-renewable, it is a short-term policy. Put in other words, if the government does not take the responsibility to reduce the level of fossil fuel production, or at least weaken the demand for the oil and gas by inciting the alternative energy development, we would find ourselves with nothing left sooner than it was assumed. Therefore, increased exploration activity could lead to the devastating consequences: useless investments in expensive drills, needless factories, and other constructions for the oil and gas production when no fossil fuel resources left, increased unemployment, and impoverished countries. In this regard solar, wind and river power are the key to the prosperous development of nations.

In conclusion, it can be assumed that oil and gas production expansion is a non-resistance path that will positively influence the living standards in the short-term, whereas in order to support the prosperity in long run, we do not have to waste the time, but invest in alternative energy development.