The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Art has been paying a vital role in all societies for centuries. However, some people believe that any kind of aesthetics should not be funded by public authorities, which can allot more money to public services. I strongly agree with this opinion since music, paintings and theater do not have a direct value to society and funding of art will always contribute to particular artists directly but not to entire artistic industry.

Neither visual, nor audial arts are capable to solve any human being issues such as health problems, hunger, education or provide with a place to live. Since basic needs have not been addressed even in the most developed countries, governments should allocate funds to public sector in order to improve quality of life of citizens. Therefore, any attempt to subsidise arts should be posponed until its become the most essential unresolved aspect of peoples lifes. For example, Russian cinema industry receives approximately ten billion of rubbles every year from senators, whereas public healthcare system lacks fifty billion to provide hospitals with necessary equipment. In other words, state leades ought to concentrate their effort on public sector.

In addition to above-mentioned problem, government’s allocations will always be received by specific workers of the industry. Hence, this leaves space for corruption, which entails an inefficient distribution of resources. For instance, russian ministory of arts supports only particular movie producers, whoes films often fail in public premiers. Thus, senators should avoid rendering any financial assistance by any means.

In conclusion, I truthly believe that government’s involvement participation in artistic industry is destructive, due to numerous issues it should resovle before and its inefficiency in funding private sector.