Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are different views on how a government should invest on developing public transport where some people believe the road network should be improved and some others believe it’s the railway that need more improvement. While there are pros and cons for both sides I firmly believe improving railways make much more cost effective, faster and convenient transport system to a country than it would by spending money on roads.

Firstly, trains are a mass transit system, if linked correctly, that can transport thousands of passengers from one destination to another in much less time and much less cost per passenger. For instance, the modern high speed trains can operate at speeds over 300 kilometers per hour and can link even far away destinations in a fraction of time compared to travel by road. Secondly, their ability to transport thousands of people in one train makes the cost per passenger also to a much affordable level than traveling by road and much more comfortable. Thirdly, there is no traffic congestion like on roads as the trains go on a schedule and the railway is dedicated to that particular train. Moreover, even in congested cities, railways built underground, makes traveling much easier without any traffic.

In contrast, it is not practical to connect every door by the trains like a road network does. Therefore, importance of developing road network can not be underestimated. Furthermore, It is pertinent to have a good road network that connects every part and every corner of the country to increase the accessibility by vehicles. Furthermore, good road network is also the key to transport goods and people in areas where trains cannot reach dues to its geographical or other constraints.

In conclusion, though there are both advantages and disadvantages in government focusing on developing public transport by investing to develop railways and roads, I believe they must prioritise the mass transport methods like railways which it faster, safer and more cost effective.