Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although, the infrastructure of cities has developed in a way that makes a sophisticated networks of paths inside and outside of the megacities possible, host of critics are on the opinion that Governments should pay utmost attention to roads as they are more popular. I am beginning to think it works the other way and due to some reasons I believe, governments should spend more money on railways.

In the first place, one compelling and convincing reason in favor of my opinion is the environmental disasters that we have been encountering previously. At the age of the new century, fossil fuel cars which are the main source of air pollution is one of our extremely pressing setbacks which needs to be addressed as soon as possible and it is crystal clear that only governments could financially supply this projects. Governments should do some measurements in order to reverse the repercussion of exhaust fumes by replacing some facilities like railways. while by investing money on roads governments are encouraging people to use private cars and as a consequence they are actually compounding the situation of air pollution.

Furthermore, another essential point which bolsters my vantage point about this issue is thanks to advent of technology and cutting edged facilities high technical vehicles like trains transmit people and commodities at a very high rate. Many surveys in metropolitans area have shown that railways like metro diminish the period of journeys up to 50 per cent. It is going without thinking that many people prefer punctual trains rather than getting stuck in traffic. So it is worth spending money on railways.

Therefore, again with regard to the series of circumstances which have polluted the air like personal cars the government should allocate a lot of money to other ways like railways, with specially having more popularity.