Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Developing and maintaining infrastructure is one of government tasks, by using taxpayer’s money to invest and build more roads or railways. There is opinion that country budget should be more focus on roads than railways. I agree with this statement because railway technology and trains itself are more environmental friendly than automobiles.

Nowadays, trains technology is already very developed. Compared to cars it more faster and caused less carbon emission since it only use electricity as main source of operating. For example, in 1960s Japan already have bullet-train systems through out the country with the speed of more than 200 kph and it showed economic benefits and also benefits to the people. Goods are being transport faster and people now can go to work in big cities like Tokyo or Osaka for a very short time.

As a matter of fact. There are many scientific researches carried out that emissions from diesel-engines is one of main caused of climate change and it still take a lot times to develop till fully electronic car can be use. Opposite to that, train-engines are already use electricity and at the same time can carry a lot of passengers and prevent the use of thousand of internal combustion engines, reducing carbon footprint. Most of developed countries around the world are already have or investing in railway systems, Europe and Japan have the most electrified rails in the world. The US and China are after the same trend because they see beneficial of having a good transport system.

In conclusion, the State should divert more fund into rail lines as this will shorter travel times and prevent climate change.