Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, globalization is becoming a huge trend of the world and economics activities between countries is one of the reason why many people are learning another language in order to immigrate or work abroad, but the benefits of being bilingual or even trilingual are more than that.

Learning second language is a vital part of education. Especially English, lingua franca of the world. With good fluency of English can help you easy to communicate with other people globally and can get you a good high pay job. That’s why many countries around the world have English as one of their curriculum for student. At the same time, there are many scientific reports that show bilingual people are most likely have smaller chance of having alzheimer’s disease, which infect memories of elderly people’s brain.

Another aspect of learning another language is that you can learn the culture of that country, language and culture are intrinsically linked. It is impossible to understand country’s culture without understanding it language. For example, all of Kafka’s books are written in German and have translated version in many languages, but to know the contexts and what is the meaning behind of every words, the history and messages that author wanted to tell us.

In my own experience, know another language have changed my life completely. With knowledge of English, I can talk and get to know with many people from many countries and I can get a job as translators or interpreters, which I don’t have to travel to another country to use my skills.

In conclusion, there are many purposes to learn languages more than to travel or work abroad to use language skills, actually with this skill you can have better career and get to know many friends within your country.