Governments should spend money on railways rather than on roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is argued that government should allocate bigger funds on railways as compared to roads. I strongly agree with this statement because trains are faster and they are environmentally friendly.

The first reason why states should focus more on developing and improving rail lines is that they offer a shorter duration of time travel. This is to say that their average speed is faster as compared to buses or cars. Travelling by trains is an effort and time saving because they do not encounter traffic jams along the way and that is why people prefer this mode of transportation. Through technology, trains are more sophisticated nowadays because they are designed accordingly based on how fast they are. For example, in the Philippines, it takes an hour to travel by taxi from Sampaloc to Pasay whereas by train it will only take 20 minutes.

Another reason why trains should receive more funding from the government is that they do not harm the earth. Trains are functioning without the use of fossil fuels and as a result, they do not emit carbon dioxide, which is a greenhouse gas that contributes to the rising global temperature. If there are more efficient trains available it could also reduce the number of vehicles on roads because people will likely use this type of transport. For instance in Germany, when their government spent billions of dollars on electric trains there was a significant decrease in car ownership as well as a reduction in the ppm levels of CO2.

In conclusion, the reasons why I support the idea that states should invest more on trains are: they provide a shorter span of time travel and help reduce the increasing amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere.