Grandparents take care of the children when their parents are out at work. Do you think the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

It is commonly observed that almost all couples are working professional nowadays. In this endless race of career building, they must leave their kids with their grandparents which is justified in the eyes of some people. Personally, I feel, this trend has both merits and demerits associated with it.

To commence with, there are many benefits of putting the responsibility of children on the shoulders of the old members of the family. Primarily, they have reached the stage of elderness after experiencing a lot of obstacles in family life. To illustrate, grandparents today were once the parents and hence they can handle a child in a sensitive manner such as feeding him from time to time, storytelling, and engaging them in various activities which cannot be known better by anyone else. Secondarily, they are ideal to inculcate good moral values in them by moral lectures and fictional stories which is an additional asset for children.

However, this trend has some drawbacks as well. Firstly, grandparents are not much efficient physically in nurturing a child as they might find it difficult to chase a toddler who hardly sits in one place. Secondly, at this age, most people become forgetful and they may forget certain things which may give birth to a disaster. For instance, in our neighborhood, there was a veteran man who was playing with his grandson on the balcony. At sudden, the man got some work and came in for a while but forgot about his brood playing on the balcony and we hardly saved the child from jumping. So, keeping children with them could be hazardous sometimes.

To conclude, keeping children with grandparents makes it easier for parents to fulfill their professional commitments and it helps a child to learn ethical and moral values but could be dangerous too due to their physical incompatibility and poor memory by age. According to me, it has more merits than demerits, perhaps they must be provided with an assistant to help them.