The growth of multinational companies and the resulting rise of globalization creates positive effects for all. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this age of change, people are witnessing the proliferation of businesses operating in many different countries at the same time and the resulting rise of worldwide integration. From my perspective, this phenomenon is beneficial to both individuals and society on different levels.

There are various compelling reasons why globalization and multinational enterprises have a host of advantages. First and foremost, multinational companies have a tremendous bearing on the economy of labor-rich and capital-scarce countries. This can be explained by the fact that when a developed country’s corporation establishes small branches in a developing nation such as Viet Nam, low-skilled workers here will be provided with a variety of job opportunities. As a result, this can significantly reduce the unemployment rate in economically disadvantaged countries and therefore lead to the sustainable economic growth of those countries. Secondly, multinational businesses can act as a springboard for the increase in trade activities. Thanks to globalization, multinational business owners nowadays can easily get access to a bigger market. In turn, customers are able to access more goods and services as well as have a wider range of choices, which means that people can not only buy products in their native country but also purchase foreign commodities. Therefore, individuals can enhance their living standards to some extent.

Despite the aforementioned merits, multinational companies in a globalized society are not without certain dire environmental impacts in several countries. Specifically, when multinational firms establish factories and plants in developing countries where they have weak environmental protections, they may overexploit the fossil fuel resources such as coal and gas in local nations. In addition, they may release a huge amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere while generating products, which is often billed as the driving factor behind air pollution and other environmental issues. But closer examination would reveal that this problem could be solved by several effective solutions. For example, the policymakers of developing countries can enforce rigorous laws about environmental security or launch green campaigns. Besides, multinational companies can take the initiative to adopt green renewable alternatives to reduce traditional finite sources of energy. By doing that the local nations’ environment can be protected. Through this, it seems that globalization and multinational companies do not do our environment a disservice if business owners have good strategies.

In conclusion, in light of the above factors, although multinational firms may affect the local countries’ environment negatively, I firmly believe that multinational businesses and globalization have a number of benefits for the whole society and each individual, especially people who are unemployed.