Health experts believe that walking is a good exercise for health However people are walking less nowadays Why is this happening How can people be encouraged to walk more

In this modern era, it is acknowledged by health professionals that taking up an exercise as walking could be advantageous for human health. However, the number of pedestrians has reduced recently, compared with that in the past. From my point of view, this phenomenon is attributed to its inconvenience as well as the lack of walkway, and there are two approaches that can spur people to walk more frequently.

To begin with, there are two reasons that could act as a precursor to the decline of walkers. First and foremost, due to the convenience and the speed of motor vehicles, people tend to choose motorbikes or cars as means of transport to their workplace rather than have a walk. For instance, a transport would take humans at least 10 minutes to reach their firm, compared to roughly 45 minutes of walking. Furthermore, pavements or walkways have been minimized in order to enlarge roads for transportation as well as construction, along with the destruction of parks, has resulted in the lack of pathways for pedestrians. Take Vietnam as an example, in 2015, the proportion of people taking walking as exercises was 30%, while this figure in 2018 had reduced to 15%, due to the diminished pathway to construct buildings.

There are several feasible solutions that can encourage people to take up walking more. Firstly, the authority should raise awareness of residents about the merits of walking, as well as establish some competitions to stimulate people to engage in. In Japan, the government has held a great number of walking competitions with enchanting rewards, which encourage numerous people to take part in this sort of tournaments, raising the number of pedestrians by 20%. Additionally, pathways for walkers should be enlarged through constructing more parks, as well as pavements so that they would have places to take a walk. If the number of walkways continues to be lessened, then citizens would not obtain opportunities to walk due to the lack of pathways, leading to the reduction of pedestrians.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of the increasing number of people who tend to not walk is attributable to the lack of walkways, as well as the inconvenience of that. And in order to raise that figure, people should perceive the beneficial outcomes of walking, as well as more pathways should be constructed.