High school students are usually not good at managing money. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

It is true that many students at high school lack skills in managing their own finance. This happens because of some reasons, and effective solutions should be proposed to deal with the problem.

To begin with, there are several grounds why high school students are not good at managing money. The first reason is that the curriculums at many schools do not contain subjects teaching students how to save and spend their money wisely. Pursuing an extra course outside school might also be unfeasible because students are so caught up in the pressure of learning academic subjects at school that they do not have the time to learn this course. The second reason stems from parents who provide their children with sufficient money just to make sure that their children focus mainly on academic study without worrying much about money. As a result, children feel that learning to manage money is unnecessary.

Several measures should be implemented to solve this issue. First, the authorities should supplement the subject on life management into the syllabus, which will help students to be able to manage the cash flows of their budgets. Second, parents need to bring up their children to make most of their pocket money. This can be done by limiting the number of money children have to spend within a month, which would encourage patterns of behavior in which youngsters learn to use money wisely and not to squander their savings in order to keep up with their peers in school.

In conclusion, the shortage of skills in managing money amongst high school students is caused by several factors, and the school's authorities and parents need to come up with solutions to this problem.