The increase in the production of consumer goods result in damage to natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many detrimental impacts have been left on the natural environment due to the mass manufacturing process of consumer goods. In the scope of this essay, several related reasons are addressed and a few solutions are suggested to tackle this issue.

Industrialised wastes are main causes of global warming and pollution. Gas emission as a result of burning fossil fuels such as coal and oil to generate energy for production leads to such dramatic increase of carbon dioxide that the air is severely polluted. Moreover, this dangerous gas also weaken the ozone layer which act as a shield to protect our planet from radiation and heat from the sun. Hence, more and more heat is absorbed into the atmosphere and gradually lift up the surrounding temperature to the point at which ice in northern polar started to melt, causing the loss of habitats of nearly a hundred wildlife species as well as raising the risk of flood and other natural disasters. furthermore, toxic components from chemical additives resulted in soil pollution and water pollution.

After analysing the causes, I will propose two main remedies for this problem. Firstly, an improvement in current technologies should be thoroughly discussed and researched with the help of experts in all fields to decrease the level of pollutant. Along with the utilization of conventional sources like fossil fuels, we can apply available ones such as wind or solar energy which are renewable and immensely sustainable. In this way, we will be able to lower the rate of gas emission into the air and boost the efficiency of the whole process. Secondly, raising awareness of consumers is recommended. In our modern yet materialistic world, the chase for profit of factories and companies has always been a prevalent story. Big companies have tendency to seek for many ways to lessen the cost of disposal treatment. For instance, Ajinomoto, a Japanese food additives factory released a billion cubic meters of waste water into the nearby river instead of hiring specialized team to work on these waste, making the environment deeply damaged. In this way, if we can heavily charge and impose strict rules for manufacturers and ask buyers to ostracize labels similar to this, we will be able to effectively warn those kinds of activities.

In conclusion, industrial disposal from manufacturing consumer goods are main factors that contributed to the increasing rate of environment damage and we can solve this problem by upgrading technologies and raising awareness of consumers.