An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, the schools let their students to carry their own technological devices for study, as laptops, tablets and cellphones to the objetive to digitalize the classroom. Even more, in some countries exist a public policy related to turn the schools into a technologicals once, providing computers to the schoolars and giving resources to the schools to achieve this profit. This trend is growing for several reasons, but others are not agree with that.

Firstly, one of the advantages of carrying your own laptop or devices belongs to an idea of sustaintability. Studying trought digital resources will help to reduce the pappers, books and other printed materials, decreasing the producction of these issues and the explotation of trees. This measure can help the planet in a more ecological way. Another advantage is the improvement in learning. With digital devices, the class can become more interactive because students will have the chance to watch videos, see photos or read online articles. Also share their notes to their classmates in real time.

On the contrary, one of the disadvantanges is that devices and internet connection can generate a distraction on the class. Keeping the attention of the students in other things no related to the assigments. For experts, this behavour can affect the learning process of a child. Another disadvantage, is the generation of a gap between students than have computers from others who don not have it. This will produce and inequality in the development of their habilities and knowledge.

To conclude, we can see two differents sides about this topic. However, the future will be digital in many features of our lifes and for that reason the advantages of this trend are better than disadvantages.