Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In this day and age, there has been growing a concern about traffic and pollution issues. A number of people believe that the cost of fuel should be risen up so that the problems can be solved. Personally, I do not entirely side with this opinion.

It is indisputable that cars and motorbikes are extremely popular for most people around the world. These means of transport may be considered to be one of the most harmful factors to the pollution as they emit exhaust fumes to the environment. Thus , people think that increasing the petrol’s cost can restrict the use of these vehicles. While this may be true to some extent, it also means that the price of public transport such as buses, trains may significantly more expensive . As a result, there will be a number of people who are unlikely to use these public transport as their methods of travelling.

In fact, there are several ways to solve the traffic issues . It is highly recommended that government should invest in public transport to boost its convenience in order to encourage people to use them instead of cars or bikes. To clarify, authority should build more train or bus stations so that people can easily walk to these stations. Another factor which should also be taken into consideration is to decrease the price of public transport. As a consequence , people can use public transport as their comfortable means of transport and air pollution as well as traffic congestion will drop significantly.

To conclude, traffic jams and air pollution are serious issues which always be debated . In my standpoint, rising up the cost of gasoline is not a really wise idea to deal with those problems because it may boost the price of public transport. Therefore, to solve traffic problems, government should spend money on public transport to increase its term of convenience and encourage people to use them .