Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The urgency of environmental protection has truly hit home over the past few decades since we saw a number of pictures as to marine pollution or “Amazon desert”. The issue of whether individuals are not able to contribute to saving the earth, along with governments and large corporations, remains a subject of intense debate. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea mentioned above.

There are three main reasons why it takes all of the community to tango when it comes to protecting Mother Nature. First of all, the government is by no means capable of mitigating the matter of contaminated ecosystem without us - taxpayers. To his this one on the head, national budget is allocated to run multiple reforestation programmes as well as ameliorating natural habitat owing to taxes paid annually. Secondly, it is pragmatic for the public to have ample far-reaching impacts on the natural environment by replacing natural resources with sustainable and environmentally friendly energy ones. An illustration here is the growing establishment of the solar power system in the household, which has recently become a tendency in developing and developed countries.

Finally, huge companies also play a vital role in environmental preservation. They predominantly focus on minimizing the damage caused by their own industrial activities, from restricting exhaust fumes to relieving a relatively high proportion of hazardous substances dumped into the sea. However, it is possible for the local community to have a corresponding positive impact by means of refusing to use plastic bags or reducing personal vehicles. All in all, it can be concluded that the ecosystem is being improved tremendously by every member of society.

For these reasons, it is my personal belief that regardless of who we are, normal citizens or politicians, we always play an equal role in solving environmental pollution.