Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in a world where the significance of the preservation of the environment has been growing in leaps and bounds ,and this had raised the question of whether individual people can play a part or it is the government and the private sector that can address the matter.it is felt that no matter how small the contribution of individuals cant be denied however the role of the latter group is still more significant.

On a national level, it is obvious that it is the government’s responsibility to salvage the natural surroundings .first of all ,governees pay taxes and expect their governors to allocate budgets to major environmental concerns. For instance , without government funding ,it would be impossible to separate and recycle waste released in the landfills.as well as monetary matters, what is important is that lawmakers contributing to a country’s government are the ones who pass laws and set fines to combat and curb those cutting down the trees and hunting rare species illegally .as long as logging and poaching are not vehemently faught,we will end up failing to preserve our flora and fauna .Finally and yet more importantly , presidents and ministers are expected by their nations to sign global treaties and seek help from international communities like the UN to address major concerns of the mother earth namely global warming ,climate change and carbon foot print.

Similarly , a lot of such responsibilities have been privatized in recent years .major non –governmental organizations have been making their contribution to this cause .these include either nonprofit and profit national NGOs like Go Green intending to combat overuse of plastic in New Zealand or UN environmental sub organizations which have been working in the area for years.

On the other hand, on an individual level what can be done to make a difference no matter how small compared to the former large-scale measures is make changes and modifications in lifestyles . in water use ,shorter showers could soon build up if done in masses .an other step to take is separation of wet and dry trash .as well as such household routines, once they are out on picnics ,people can make sure to kill the fire made out in the jungle or avoid littering there.

Having made these points , it can be concluded that it is not that individuals have no responsibility to take ,it is just that the role of governmental and privately-run organizations is so urgent and marked that makes individual steps pale into insignificance.