International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places At the same time there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages Give reasons for your answe

With the increase in globalization international travel and tourism has become very popular. There is a rising trend among people to explore the different parts of the world. However, this trend comes with both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh its advantages because of two prominent reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will justify my stand / opinion with valid arguments and examples.

Firstly, international tourism has raised a significant amount of environmental concerns. Many places are affected by land and water pollution as a result of tourist activity. For instance, ecologically sensitive hill stations attract a lot of tourists and to accommodate them more resorts and hotels are being built there. Unfortunately, this leads to environmental problems. Littering is another concern. Tourists leave behind leftover food, plastic cans and plastic wrappers in places like beaches and forests. They not only pollute the surroundings, but also lead to the death of innocent animals who choke on them.

Additionally, many people do not respect the customs and traditions of the host country / the country they visit. For instance, in Middle East countries, it is mandatory for women to cover themselves with hijab. In the same manner, places like temples should be visited without wearing any footwear. Many foreigners are not aware of these culturally significant norms and they unintentionally hurt the sentiments of that culture.

In conclusion, although international tourism has helped in boosting the economy in terms of foreign direct investments and other international trade agreements at the same time, it has also caused considerable environmental damage and in some cases cultural conflicts. Hence, I believe that its downsides overshadow the upsides.