It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the relative importance of natural talent and training is a frequent and popular topic of debates, where people discuss the various levels of abilities in sport, art, or music.

It is obvious, that education systems are based on belief than children can effectively be taught to acquire different skills, including those associated with sport, art, and music. So from our own school experience, we can find plenty evidence to support this thought, that any children can acquire these skills with continued training and practice.

However, some people believe that innate talent is more essential factor that continued teaching. They think, that this differentiates talented people from those who has been trained to play sport or an instrument. In other words, there is more skill than a teaching technique, and this extra talent can not be taught, no matter how good the teacher an practices.

My opinion is that some people have talents that are undoubtedly inherited via their genes. Such talent give individuals a facility for certain skills that allow them to excel, whereas others are more hard-working students, nevertheless they never manage to reach a comparable level. But, as with all questions of nature versus nurture, they are not mutually exclusive. Good musicians or artist have probably succeed because of both good training and innate talent. Without the natural talent, continuous training would be neither attractive nor productive, and without the training, people cannot improve and develop their talent.

In conclusion, I agree that any child can be taught particular skills, but to be a be a real professional and good in areas such as music, art, or sport, then some natural talent is required.