It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for absence of friendship.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The contribution of loved ones and their emotional support to a person’s life has always been rated very highly. In this regard, an opinion exists that fond relatives matter more than mates, therefore a lack of friends might be covered by family presence. Although I believe that friendship fills life with positive emotions and energy, the family provides the person with a full range of support.

On the one hand, friendship allows a person to exchange feelings and experiences with people in whom they perceive mutual interest. Communication with like-minded ones makes a human happier and lifts their spirits. Moreover, the opportunity to share longing with a fellow and receive back an understanding is necessary for psychological health. For instance, in the movie The Intouchables paralyzed millionaire Philippe and his new helper Driss changed each other’s lives through their close and sincere relationship. That is why unity and energy sharing with people they like are substantial for human nature.

On the other hand, the family carries the most important upbringing function and the seriousness of it cannot be denied. From an early childhood and throughout the life, parents explain the norms of behavior in the society to their offsprings. People gain an understanding about etiquette, morality, law, education and the rest from those who gave birth to them. The brilliant example is the British Royal Family, where raising children is a whole well thought system that ends with the appearance of impeccable ladies and gentlemen. Thus, the contribution of family members to personal development is so multifaceted that it cannot be underestimated.

To conclude, I believe that comparison between participation of fellows and kins in a person's life makes no sense. The former are ready to appear with emotional support at the right time, while the latter give invaluable growth in all spheres of life.