A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

It is true that these days, tourism has become a primary source of income in many countries around the world. While I understand that the government may see managed incorrectly tourism system as a cause of issues, I firmly hold the view that the disadvantages pale in comparison with the advantages that this business activity provides.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why tourism is problematic. Firstly, tourism industries exert a negative effect on our environment. Many people usually destroy natural habitats to make way for excessive buildings such as hotels, restaurants, and roads for the purpose of developing tourism. Besides, this business activity can also create waste and pollution which may lead to global warming and ozone layer depletion. Secondly, local traditions may be lost because of tourism. It could be explained by the fact that since tourism allows bringing different cultures from other countries into ours, our national identity can disappear.

On the other hand, tourism’s benefits outweigh its problems. One of the main advantages of tourism is that it is a crucial key industry providing a great deal of income. A good telling example is that tourism spends a huge amount of money on transportation, tourist guides, book, etc. Moreover, in terms of employment, tourism provides more job opportunities for local people due to demands for goods and services. This results in not only improving residents’ standard of living but also boosting the national economy.

In conclusion, despite several disadvantages that tourism cause to the government and traditional cultures, it seems to me that tourism is more advantageous regarding nations’ economy and employment for local people.