Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Technology seem to be a useful book supplying almost knowledge all over the world is updated every day. However, this invention, is unable to replace traditional library function because of a dozen of troubles that we could get during applying the new systems. In my opinion, using computer technology is a brilliant idea but it would be better when we combine it with traditional library system.

A model of a library equipped with full of technological devices could benefit people in saving time and space, but this idea was exaggerated its functions to hide the dark sides behind. A highlight trouble is how to maintain the stable of the network system of all computer in the library because the only one tiny mistake could block the whole library’s system. Therefore, the manager needs to update the system constantly; besides, the user also needs more time to use, control computer’s channel. In spite of the time needed, electric library would aggravate emergency problems. For example, the replacement of literary reading culture to technological book, which is appreciated of saving time, in fact, motivating the ageing brain process. Scientists proved that children, who use electronic devices without control are easily autistic or depressed because they have less time for outdoor activities. Every invention target to optimize human life, unfortunately, it seems to be harmful to people.

In this light, though maintaining public libraries is a waste of money, it is really a more feasible solution. For instance, to note daily facts, our ancestors changed carving on stone to using wood, bamboo and paper that paper material and long-lasting ink are proofs showing the ancient civilization before collapsing, it was incredibly outstanding flourish. The end of an epoch was not a full stop for everything; because book was one of precious evidences reflecting the bold sign of an epoch in itself, said scientists. Furthermore, physical books could bring knowledge to the poor, the people lacking network, so that the rapid development of digital books is synonymous with decreasing the learning opportunity of lots of people. These functions are the strength point of a real book that we could not use an electric book instead. Instead of using computer entirely for libraries, it could be benefit human more for supporting searching and storing. We could utilize but not abuse the technology.

In conclusion, the progressive spirit is positive; however it is the same of a Sine Wave, the more successes we harvest, the more failures we experience. It is impossible to avoid all defeats; however, human could control and limit these troubles. Integrating computer technology to traditional library is a brilliant idea because of decreasing the risks of health and money; furthermore, reading culture would be conserve.